100620091160 In my last post I had asked you to send me your questions regarding the N97 so I could put them across to Axel Meyer and get a response from him.

I wasn’t able to make it to the Bangalore leg of the event, but I did manage to go to the Delhi leg which took place on the 10th of June. Before I get into it, let me firstly place on record my thanks to the people at Bloggers’ Mind – Prerna Bhagra, Songita B. Verma and last but not least Andrew Clarance. If it were not for them, this would not have been possible. I would also like to thank the people at Nokia who worked in conjunction with them to make this possible (I don’t know if I can mention the names, let me know if I can!) and also Thrifty for their cab service and of course Trident, Gurgaon.

Secondly, A big congratulations to Nokia – India for starting off something like this. I sincerely wish you all the best in this endeavor, this is a step in the right direction. I wish I am able to be a part of such events in the future as well.

Now going back to the event. The event began with a presentation by Axel Meyer on how the N97 came to be. FYI, the conceptualization of this device began way back in 2006. So for all we know a N99 and a N98 are already in the works. Axel Meyer talked about what made the N97 what it is today.

DSCN4200 In that duration Vaibhav (of The Symbian Blog fame) and me got a chance to check out the N97 – black. We got to play a lot with it, and in the process got a lot of snaps. For more info on what Axel talked about, I suggest you head on over to Symbian-Life Blog where you will find in a lot of detail what Axel spoke of. You will find a lot of info on the basis of the design and what makes the N97 different.

n97-bloggger-meetup-delhi-071 Now moving onto the phone, the N97 is snappy, it’s fast and by no means clumsy. It is not at all that big, It only appears so in the pictures. The slider action which people were worrying about, well let me tell you that it’s absolutely crisp, the sound is reassuring… In fact Axel even challenged us to find him a better slider than the N97. The interface is definitely better on the N97, looks like they learnt from the 5800 very quickly. The camera functions pretty well and the dual LED setup here is better than on previous Nseries phones. The camera application starts almost instantaneously on the N97. Overall I found nothing wrong in the build, working or any other part of the phone. The keypad which is different from a regular QWERTY requires getting used to. Nothing too difficult in mastering the design.

DSCN4222 Moving onto the colour, Axel had in his hand the white N97, but if you ask me, the black is every bit the show stopper. Imagine watching a movie and seeing white colour on the outside? It will distract you. Black completely makes the N97 ‘regal’.

There was a Q&A round as well where people got to ask questions to Axel about the device, questions that covered the N-Gage and gaming aspect, hardware aspect, colours, competitors and mistakes learnt from past devices. Axel was very involved in answering our questions. Even though he looked tired, his voice and eyes conveyed a lot of passion and excitement for the new device.

So if you are planning a purchase of this device, I suggest you buy it. I am definitely looking at the black coloured N97 as my next acquisition. So don’t waste time pre-order your N97 today!

Here is a gallery of N97 images for you to drool over…

And a bonus treat is a picture clicked from the N97 itself.

09062009016

