dscn4085My exams have finally come to an end!

This past few days I have been under a tight schedule, posting far and few posts in between. But for the next few days expect me to have a little more time for the blog.

Well without wasting any time, let me get to the pending work at hand. The N96 review. Havig used the device for a fairly long period now. I can tell you a lot more about this device.

Let me start by telling you about the N96 in the lighting department. Now since the N96 is the flagship device, I was expecting it to do away with any problems that have existed with the Nseries and show itself to be a true performer. In the first part of my review, I looked at the design and how it fared in that department. In the lighting department, the N96 has also given mixed results. While on some parameters it has come out on tops, on the others it simply is not acceptable. Read on to see why it is so.

dscn4073

Backlighting:

The backlighting on the N96 is a battery drainer! When you crank the display brightness to maximum and use the phone, be ready to have that thing drain out fast. I learned this the hard way on the N96. The minute you put it to the lowest point, the battery life increases dramatically. I have been using the screen at the lowest scale of brightness and I’m finding it ok. Though I wish I could use it at full brightness. But battery life is more important. For this aspect, I’ll give the N96 a 7.8/10. Even though, the backlighting was set to the lowest notch, it wasn’t that bad.

A little thing you should know, even though there are many levels (6, I think) at which you can set the screen baclighting. Effectively there are only 4 levels, the others don’t have any noticeable difference.

Notification Light:

The N96 does have the notification light feature. Surprised? I was too, since the Eseries had it and the Nseries did not. Finally a small little goodie from the Eseries basket! The the notification light is soft and works in the same manner as it does on the Eseries phones. I think its a good faeture that should have been implemented a long time ago.  For this I will give the N96 a strong 9/10.

dscn4080

Keypad Lighting:

Keypad lighting is where the N96 scores and misses at the same time. The N96 has four keys for the music player function for the top part of the slider, and the lighting for it is not that good. I found it to be below par. The same keys for N-Gage had much better lighting, weird!!!.

dscn4075

dscn4077

The rest of the phone’s keys (on the screen part, and the number pad) are evenly lit, making them easily visible in darkness. It’s surprising that the keys or buttons on the side (volume and camera) do not have any lighting. I guess the owner is expected to intuitively know where those spongy keys are. That is a bad thing to have done Nokia!. Another thing that irked me since the beginning is the visble gaps in the fit and finish of the keypad and other keys. I know that light can leak out, but on the N96 it was ridiculuous. I just hate the fact that the gaps show themselves so clearly when the lights come on.

Notice the light clearly showing the gaps in the keys.

Notice the light clearly showing the gaps in the keys.

I think it could have been avoided. Mind you the keypad lighting is good and even. But because of the light leaking out from almost everyhwere, it presents a poor picture. This is not what a phone as expensive as this should have. I will give this aspect of the N96 a 7/10. The N96 could have easily picked up more points and earned a very good score had it not been for the light leaking from everywhere.

The N96 has redeemed itself a little over here. Let’s see how it fares during the course of this entire review. Stay tuned to the remaining parts of the reivew, which will be put up soon.

