Recently, nice1 requested me to check out the S60SpotOn application. I also got another request from MMG who wanted to know about the recorder application and whether he could use it for a prolonged time or no. Since I was on vacation, I was not able to post my thoughts on them readily.

Now that I am home, I can tell you about it in detail.

S60SpotON:
This application is for keeping the screen display light on continuously and also for using the camera flashlight as a torch. I have used both the features of the software, and it is a good software especially if you need some light in an emergency (I wonder what makes Nokia think that a high-end mobile phone user will not need a torch!!!). The software worked perfectly on the E71, I am trialling courtesy WOMWorld.

The display light feature is really great. Since the engineers have provided a bright screen for the E71 and E66, I’m sure a lot many people who use it on the E71 or E66, will appreciate it. This feature does what it says, keeps the display light continuously on, great for when you don’t want the screen going black. It works even you press ‘back’ and come out of the application and use some other application.

The flash light option switches on the LED flash, and keeps it continuously switched on until you switch it off from the application. It great for when you need a torch. Remember, in this option you cannot use the camera at all.

The software could be better if it could provide some more options for the lighting, like till when must this application run, a battery meter. But even so, this software works like a charm, is small and very handy. However, on the E71, if you need to use the lights as a torch option, I suggest you use the display light option, the display’s light is much more brighter than the LED’s light.

Recorder:
The S60’s built in recorder feature which was one of the most criticized feature of the lot, underwent a change when FP1 was released. From an earlier limit of just 1 minute, the recorder application now allows a user to record up to 1 hour in one recording. I really don’t need to go into the specifics of how it works, you can try it out by running it yourself in your S60-FP1 devices (N95, N95-8GB, N82, N93i, 5700, E61i, etc). Naturally the FP2 devices already have this functionality, so the N78, N79, N85, N96, etc. also have this feature.

If you need to record more than that in one recording, then you need to use a third party application. There are many of them out there. You can check out the software store and many other online stores that sell S60 software. However before you buy it, please make sure it supports your phone. Also please make sure the online store is reliable.

Do you want me to review any particular software, if yes please leave your comments. It will be even better if you could leave me a download link for the software as well. Thanks and keep visiting.

